Skip to content

February Update

March 2, 2011

February roared through like a rocket. It was supposed to be “the month” to advance on some major writing projects – wow! was I ever wrong.

– It started by attending and speaking at a conference in Houston, TX for three short days. This was both a challenge and an encouragement: Challenging in that I walked away with much information to chew on, and encouraging in that I made new friends. Even though Houston was “cold,” according to Texans, it was far warming than when I left my home on the Canadian prairies. As I boarded the plane to depart Texas, I stood in that narrow gap between the jet and the loading canopy and soaked up the warmth of the sun for a few seconds – and when the plane landed for the final time that day, I stepped out to a windchill of -35 and heavy ground drifting. Welcome home.

– For the majority of the month, I worked as a fill-in custodian for the local elementary school. The work was good, and I really enjoyed the students and staff. My only beef was it ate-up most of my writing time. However, on the second last day, I mismatched all the kid’s gym shoes and tied them together. The reaction the following morning was outstanding.

– I did manage to finish two books: Bill Wisner’s Vanished – Without a Trace!, a collection of short stories and clippings relating to maritime mysteries, ocean disasters, and unusual events at sea. It was very interesting: A nice mental break late in the evenings. I also read Gary Bates’ Alien Intrusion: UFOs and the Evolution Connection. Bates does an excellent job debunking UFO theories, acknowledging the phenomena where it warrants, and exposing the religious messages that come through these “alien” entities. Over the years I’ve read many books by UFO researchers and the channeled messages of “alien” beings, and Bates’ overview – based on a Biblical foundation – confirmed much of what I’d studied in the past. Hmmm… I see a report for a future issue of Forcing Change in the not-so-distant future.

– An interview taped in January with Jan Markell was aired in mid-February, and my posting on this blog page about “Social Justice” elicited some very interesting responses – that’s good, we all need to think through our points and positions.

– A family friend, Ron Fehr, passed away after battling cancer. His life testimony to Jesus Christ was the focus of the funeral, and it was truly incredible. We will miss Mr. Fehr, but the hope of eternity through Jesus Christ is a beautiful promise.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pearl permalink
    April 19, 2011 9:14 am

    This glimpse into your rich life brought a smile to my face. Endearing, really.

    Yes, we Southern Texans are easily offended by those mere cold fronts which bombard us on occasion. In fact, during the meanest front I ever recall hitting San Antonio this past winter, a Weather Channel Reporter stated that Brownsville’s morning temperature (which is on the Tex/Mex border) was actually colder than some place in the Yukon! How do ya’ll do it?!

    My sympathies on the loss of your friend. A true blessing to know you’ll meet again.

Leave a Reply

